I Have a Secret

“The secret things belong to the Lord our God, but the things revealed belong to us and to our children forever, that we may follow all the words of this law.” Deuteronomy 29:29

“Secret things belong to the Lord, and future things are secret things. When you try to figure out the future, you are grasping at things that are mine. This, like all forms of worry, is an act of rebellion: doubting My promises to care for you.” Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young

Ah … but we want to know the future so badly. We wrap our lust for future insight neatly in a package called prophecy. We counsel our youth to plan for their future. We mentor our business understudies with a nifty little saying, “ When you fail to plan you plan to fail.”

Sometimes this obsession with a preview into upcoming events is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. The wolf of control.

Lifting your feet off the floor and allowing your total weight to rest in the hammock of God’s provision is difficult.

Why is it so hard to trust a God that loved us so much He allowed His only son to be brutally beaten, taken advantage of, dissed in every way we could possibly imagine? Yet we don’t trust the Father. I’m telling you, if someone did to my son a tenth of the stuff done to Jesus I would want to hurt them! Instead, God bled love for us through His overwhelming extension of Himself in Jesus.

So back to the trust question: Why is it so hard to trust Him?

I’ve been doing this Christianity thing long enough to know God is not limited like my earthly father. I know that even when things may not be going my way, they are going God’s way in my life. He weaves circumstances together into a beautiful quilt that’s incredibly gorgeous.

So why don’t I trust Him? Why don’t I let go and allow Him to orchestrate the events in my life?

“Whenever you find yourself worrying about the future, repent and return to Me. I will show you the next step forward, and the one after that, and the one after that. Relax and enjoy the journey in My Presence.” Jesus Calling, Sarah Young

I don’t know anything else to do except to take life moment by moment, repent as the devotional recommends, let go of the wheel and allow God to steer.

I may explore this more in future musings. I would love to hear what you’ve discovered on the topic of trust…

~ by WendyRoo on March 7, 2011.

2 Responses to “I Have a Secret”

  1. My experience with trust is that once it’s broken, it is a long time coming back! I think a lot of us equate trust in man with the trust we put in God….because until you experience God’s trust and it melts away the edges of your heart then all you can know is ‘trust in man.’ I still struggle with trust issues to the point that I just automatically turn to God and say “It’s in your hands…I give it up to you.” Ha….so maybe that’s a good thing 🙂 I’m relinquishing control.

    • I like that, “I give up! It’s in Your hands.” How did you get to the place you could trust God? How did you learn He was trustworthy?

Leave a Reply

 
